Been a while.


I haven’t been blogging much this week. Or last week for that matter.
And I know you’ve started to notice.
Just last week I got an openly desperate email from Brooke Shields barrading me with complaints about how the lack of my daily blogs has left her with such a deep emotional void in her life, she has ‘not known what to do with herself.’
Of course, none of you have the same strange emotional attachment to my writing that Ms. Shields has*…. which is all based upon our longtime personal relationship and of course, that thing that happened to us and those geese in 1998.

*No offense, Brooke, I love the support—– PS- thanks for those challah rolls you had shipped from Poland. Delicious and a seriously sweet gesture. No pun in intended :-p *

But I digress.

I’ve not been blogging much because we’re full on making ‘Jeffery and Cole Casserole’ right now and I couldn’t be more excited. It’s such a nice feeling to wake up and HAVE something creative to do everyday. It’s teaching me some sort of lesson on how when I’m NOT doing things…. the stagnant energy weighs me down then I somehow let myself fester on it until I get to my lowest of lows. I was talking to my Mom about it and she was pointing out that I’ve always been that way… NEEDING something to do to feel real. When doing, I tend to feel the most in the moment that I ever do. Which is a pretty elating sensation. NOW.

I guess we’re all like this but its hard to realize how important it is until you’re DOING something and you feel just plain good all over, about everything.

We’ve only just started and in the moments that I’ve gotten ridiculously frustrated at the technical equipment, or at my angst towards what I thought was a brilliant idea falling flat, or at my messy understanding of FinalCut software, or insecurities in performing, or whatever…. I think I’ve been happier than I’ve been in a long time.

Which is cool.

I, for one, need to learn how to put the ease, the comfort, the stillness, the pride, and happiness I feel from creating in the moment with a end goal or deadline to the rest of my life and projects. There’s ALWAYS something creative to wake up for every day but sometimes (often time) we’re too busy complaining about what we’re not getting to notice it.

I think thats something we could all grow from figuring out- mastering the NOW…. not just when we’re doing things we love.

But for now…. I’m really enjoying this.
And I’m glad.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Been a while.”

  1. Ashley Says:

    I can’t wait for new episodes of Casserole! I really like what you said about there always being something creative to wake up to and that we could grow from learning how to master the NOW. Thank you for that intellectual insight :]


Leave a Reply

